History of the Las Vegas Raiders

Established in Oakland, California in 1960, the Raiders were the eighth member of the newly formed American Football League (“AFL”), an exclusive, invitation-only league that was formed in the fall of 1959, and are considered one of the original AFL teams. Three (3) time Super Bowl champions in 1977, 1981, and 1984, one American Football League (AFL) championship in 1967, and four (4) American Football Conference (AFC) titles, the Raiders are often considered on and off again champions with streaks and stints of success.


Team Ownership

From 1972 to 2011, Al Davis was the principal owner of the Raiders, and to this day, he remains the only executive in the history of the National Football League (“NFL”) to be an assistant coach, head coach, general manager, commissioner, and owner.


Over the years, Davis became increasingly upset with the condition of the Raider’s stadium. Until the 54,616-capacity Oakland Coliseum was opened in 1966, the Raiders had to play in Kezar Stadium and Candlestick Park across the bay in San Francisco and in a temporary stadium, Frank Youell Field, in Oakland. In 1980, Davis signed a memorandum of agreement promising to move the Raiders franchise to Los Angeles in hopes of securing a better home stadium. The NFL attempted to block the move, which resulted in Davis taking the league to court, winning a landmark antitrust lawsuit in 1982, and the team’s immediate relocation to Los Angeles.


Following the antitrust victory, the Raiders moved to Los Angeles Coliseum where they played for twelve (12) years. It was not until 1995 that the franchise moved back to its home city of Oakland. 


The Move to Las Vegas

On March 27, 2017, NFL team owners voted nearly unanimously to approve the Raiders’ application to relocate to Las Vegas. Nearly three years later, on January 22, 2020, the Raiders moved to Las Vegas. On January 20, 2020, the Raiders announced that they were officially moving to Las Vegas, Nevada, and began playing at Allegiant Stadium later that same year. 


Team Facts at a Glance

  • Current Team Owners: Mark Davis and Carol Davis 
  • Seasons: 63 (1960-2022)
  • Super Bowl Titles:
  • Playoff Record: 25-20
  • Most Career Yards Rushing: Marcus Allen, 8,545 (1982-92) 
  • Most Career Yards Passing: Derek Carr, 31,700 (2014-21)
  • Most Career Receptions: Tim Brown, 1,070 (1988-2003)
  • Most Career Sacks: Greg Townsend, 107.5 (1983-93, 1997)
  • Most Career Interceptions: Willie Brown (1967-78), Lester Hayes (1977-86), 39 
  • Most Career Points: Sebastian Janikowski, 1,799 (2000-16)